My petra8paleo food pyramid

Here’s my ideal paleo food pyramid, as I conceive it at this moment.

I’m learning more all the time and adjusting as I go, so I expect it might change.

In comparing my plate to my pyramid, I’m still working on replacing foods that are high omega 6s with foods that are higher in omega 3s, but otherwise this picture pretty accurately reflects my foodstuffs.

Some primal people include full-fat dairy in their diet. I experimented with that but I feel more vibrant without it, and these days I’m all about the vibrancy.

If you’re going for rapid weight loss, you might decide to temporarily remove or limit the yellow sections (squash,  root veg, fruits, berries & paleo treats) as they are high in carbohydrates, but otherwise you might find this arrangement works for you, too.

Image

If this food palate seems restricted, just think that every great cuisine on the planet evolved precisely because limited ingredients were available. We wouldn’t have Thai food or Ethiopian food or any other ethnic cuisine if people had always had supermarkets at their disposal. Through creativity and necessity, limitations make food great. The limitations of paleo are self-imposed, unlike those experienced by our ancestors, but I think these constraints still create opportunities for ingenuity and gastronomic greatness. The food I eat is delicious. And profoundly nourishing. It just takes a while to get used to restrictions when you’ve been accustomed to having anything you wanted from the supermarket.

But having anything we wanted from the supermarket has been making us collectively really unhealthy so maybe it’s time for change!

13 thoughts on “My petra8paleo food pyramid

  1. Hey there! I realize this is kind of off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does running a well-established website such as yours
    require a lot of work? I am completely new to running a blog however I do write in my journal everyday.
    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my own experience and thoughts online.
    Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for new
    aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!

    1. Hi Errol, a blog is definitely work, but it’s work that I enjoy. I learn from developing my ideas & recipes to the point where they are worth sharing & that supports my nutritional experiments, so it really has become integral to my process. I think the only way to find out if it’s for you is to try!

Leave a Reply

