In which my hat is stolen & my faith restored with Coconut Pancakes…

I lost my hat.

I didn’t actually lose it. I hung it off a twig when I was running up the mountain and when I ran back down, it was gone.

That’s the first time in the history of my life that any of the items I’ve left trailside have disappeared.

In the beginning I just left gumboots.

When I was a kid, my feet had two modes: bare & gumboots. Sometimes my feet would be in gumboots but I wanted them bare, so I’d leave my boots.

They might have been full of water when I got back, but they were always there.

When I got older I’d leave coffee cups. Pretty rocks. Sweaters that got too warm. And hats.

I’d leave them & come back for them.

It was impeccable system, until now.

It wasn’t even a great hat.

It was navy blue. And acrylic. But Matthew put it on my head when we got caught in a snowstorm soon after we met & I’ve had it ever since.

He made me pancakes for the first time during that snowstorm, and we weren’t just acquaintances after that. We blended our kids & tried not to spend a night apart thereafter.

When I got back from my mountain run, dejected about my hatlessness, I wondered if its loss would change my attitude to my possessions.

But Matthew had Coconut Pancakes waiting for me, so I decided it wouldn’t change a thing.

Coconut Pancakes

Coconut flour gets very fluffy when wet, so no leavening is required.

  • ¼ cup coconut flour
  • Pinch of salt (optional)
  • Pinch of nutmeg (optional)
  • 2 eggs
  • ¼ cup water
  • ¼ cup fresh or frozen blueberries, blackberries, or salal berries
salal berry
Salal berries

Mix the dry ingredients. Add the wet ingredients. Combine and add berries.

This will make a stiff batter.

Be sure your pan is sparkling hot before you melt coconut oil & fry up 4 plump little pancakes, browned on both sides.

Reduce the heat to medium-low once the pan is thoroughly heated.

Serve with maple butter & nut butter. Paleo indulgence!

Recipe notes:

  • This recipe is easy to remember. Use the same size measuring cup for the coconut flour, water & berries. Add 2 eggs for each ¼ cup measure.
  • This version (¼ cup measure) serves one moderately enthusiastic or moderately hungry person. For very enthusiastic or very hungry people, adjust accordingly.
  • I like maple butter rather than maple syrup, because syrup gets sucked right into these airy little pancakes, leaving me feeling bereft & syrup-less (& wanting more & then more syrup). Maple butter sits cheerily on top the whole time, so I can really have fun with it.

One thought on “In which my hat is stolen & my faith restored with Coconut Pancakes…

Leave a Reply

