The AIP is a Practice

The Autoimmune Protocol is a practice.

It’s a discipline.

As such, it’s a noun & a verb.

I woke up this morning thinking about this. That the AIP could be a spiritual practice, even.  And I remembered that years ago I developed this model for work, as a tool to assist with self-evaluation for the development of practice. And I wondered if it is relevant to the practice of AIP.

So I AIP-modified it.

Here’s the original model. Below I’ve adapted the text for AIP.

Practice

A model of AIP-practice

Practice develops over time and with experience.

This model depicts some stages in the evolution of practice. The goal is to achieve the generative stage, while continuing to make use of the strengths of each of the other stages.

AIP-Reactive: I respond to emergency situations (I’m hungry & I have to work late!) as they arise; I volunteer for activities that do not necessarily support my AIP goals; my AIP is often crisis-driven (like doing food prep when ravenously hungry).  If I get stuck here it may be because I am not yet fully invested in AIP, I am accustomed to living in crisis, or my environment is out of balance.

AIP-Calculative: I have systems in place to manage my AIP. If I get stuck it may be because I lack confidence, feel safe when others (doctors, etc.) take responsibility, or live in a social system that discourages independence and creativity.

AIP-Proactive: I actively work to identify ways that I can improve my AIP practice on an ongoing basis. I seek feedback from others who are on the AIP path.  If I get stuck, I can identify why.

AIP-Generative: My AIP philosophy & the development of my AIP-practice are embedded in almost everything I do. I learn every day. I anticipate, create, and build meaningful connections to support my AIP. If I get stuck, I take responsibility for change.

P.S. No one starts at the generative stage!

2 thoughts on “The AIP is a Practice

  1. I was just reading an article in paleo magazine about healing adrenal fatigue and thinking of that process as a “practice”. Twice in one day and a fitting description.

Leave a Reply

