Hawaiian Pizza (AIP-friendly low-FODMAP)

pizzaI don’t think I ever ate Hawaiian pizza before I went AIP, but I’m a convert now!

Step 1: Nom Nom Paleo’s Hawai’ian Pulled Pork

Michelle Tam has a post for this recipe , but I’m including my variation here as well. There are 2 things I love about this pork:  1.) its complete yumminess; 2.) the awkward cooking time. For those of us who are used to starting the slow cooker before work for dinner, a 16-hour cook time is unweildy. Until you realize that you can put it on Friday after work & have it ready for Saturday brunch. Or Sunday afternoon for Monday breakfast. Depending on the number of people yo are serving, this recipe makes enough for a number of glorious pulled pork variations over a few days, including this Hawaiian pizza.

You’ll need:Kalua Pig

  • 4-5lb pork leg roast with a moderate fat cap
  • 3 tsp coarse salt (I use black lava salt, Michelle uses Hawai’ian Alaea Sea salt, both are available here)
  • 3 pieces bacon ( I use Ayrshire bacon when I can get it)

Lay the bacon on the bottom of the slowcooker, rub the salt into the pork roast and lay it fat-side-up on the bacon. Turn it to low & put the lid on.

Cook for 16 hours.

When cooked, shred the pork with 2 forks and season with the pot liquid.

Give the portion of pork you are using for the pizzas an extra lavish helping of pot liquid to fortify them for the broiler.

Recipe NotesKalua Pig 2

  • The first time I made this I used a pork leg roast that happened to have no fat and it generated only a little liquid which then evaporated, leaving the resulting pork delicious but dry. You want some fat to keep the whole thing juicy and to generate enough liquid to season the pork shreds after.
  • Leftover pot liquid (including the well cooked bacon bits) can also go into a pan with a big bunch of chopped greens (choose chard if you’re sticking with the low-FODMAP theme) for a fabulous side.
  • My butcher gets pigs on Wednesday afternoon and the pork leg roasts are usually available Thursday morning and gone by Saturday. I plan my attack accordingly.
green bread
You can also make mini-pizzas with slices of green flatbread

Step 2: Green flatbread for pizza crust

Find the recipe for green flatbread here. Go with a round pan if you have one or oval pizzas taste good too. This recipe makes 2 medium sized pizzas. If you only want one, make green tortillas with the rest of the batter.

Don’t spread the pizza crust too thin & bake as directed for flatbread: 50 minutes.

Step 3: Piña Colada Pizza Sauce

Enough for one medium pizza.

  • ½ cup fresh pineapple, cut in small chunks to measure
  • 1/3 cup coconut cream

Blend the pineapple with the coconut cream in a blender or food processor until pureed.

To assemble

  • 1 green pizza crust
  • I batch Piña Colada pizza sauce
  • 1 ½ cups pulled pork (in a pinch you could use bacon)
  • ¼ cup of fresh pineapple chunks
  • 4 green olives, sliced

Place the pizza crust on a baking sheet (or remove the parchment paper if you have just baked it ~especially if you have a gas stove. It’s alarming when it catches fire.)

Spread the Piña Colada sauce on the pre-cooked crust and top with the well-seasoned pulled pork, fresh pineapple chunks, and sliced olives.

Place the pizza under a boiler for 10 minutes or so (watch it closely) until bubbling hot & browned on top.

Eat it up.

(Obviously you need to plan ahead for pizza night when you’re on the AIP! This recipe requires you to get the pork started at least 16 hours before you assemble the pizza. The pizza crust can be made ahead & refrigerated or frozen. The pizza sauce can be made a ahead & refrigerated.)

 

16 thoughts on “Hawaiian Pizza (AIP-friendly low-FODMAP)

  1. I started ketogenic AIP (vs just AIP for past 6 months) a month ago and your site has been a really great help at figuring things out. There aren’t many (any?) other sites that I’ve seen that combine both, which I need to do for migraines.

    I made this for dinner this evening with some tweaks. I subbed in a green banana instead of a plantain, as they seem to hate me and I used bacon instead of pulled pork. The crust is the closest thing to bread that I’ve had in the year since i’ve gone grain free! Pizza was my favorite, so this was a nice discovery.

Leave a Reply

