AIP low-FODMAP food list

AIP low-FODMAP 1.0

I was confused about FODMAPs as there is so much contradictory information about FODMAPs online. But I just received my low-FODMAP booklet from the Monash University in Australia and things are clearer (but not yet completely unambiguous).

Monash U also has a FODMAP app, but I hate phones & use my mobile exclusively for texting my teenaged children (they are surprisingly forthcoming by text even when monosyllabic in person), so I had to wait for my booklet to travel to Vancouver Island across the surface of the planet by post.

Gut-healing diets

Low-FODMAP is an entirely distinct diet from the Autoimmune Protocol (AIP), which is a restricted Paleo diet, so finding foods that are AIP-friendly & low-FODMAP requires an overlap of the two lists.

FODMAPs include oligos (fructans & galacto-oligodsacharides), fructose, polyols (sorbitol & mannitol) & lactose. A breath test can determine if malabsorption of fructose, sorbitol & lactose is present in an individual, but apparently all humans malabsorb fructans, galacto-oligodsacharides & mannitol.

Many people don’t require a low-FODMAP AIP diet to reach their health goals. The AIP or Paleo diet is amply sufficient for most. I found healing with ordinary Paleo, but I wasn’t living with an Autoimmune condition. Another variant of the Paleo diet designed specifically for healing is the Wahl’s Protocol.

A brief recap

My husband Matthew, whose life was pretty much wrecked by multiple Autoimmune conditions, including Psoriatic Arthritis, started a experiment with the AIP three months ago, after trying lots of weird diets in his quest for health. He switched to a low-FODMAP version about a month in, after he found many of the higher FODMAP foods to be difficult to digest. He believes the low-FODMAP version continues to be appropriate for him at this time. I’m just along for the ride.

AIP low-FODMAP food list

The AIP excludes all grains, legumes (including soy), nuts, seeds (including seed spices), dairy, eggs, nightshades (potatoes, tomatoes, peppers, goji berries), and food additives.

The following list includes the AIP-legal foods tested by the Monash University & listed as low-FODMAP in the 4th edition of their handbook. Australian names for a number of foods are different than what we use in Canada & I’ve adjusted these to the names I’m accustomed to.

  • All meat, poultry, fish & seafood are AIP & low-FODMAP (seek out pastured sources)

Vegetables

  • Arugula (Rocket)
  • Bok Choy
  • Cabbage (not Savoy)
  • Carrot
  • Chard
  • Chives
  • Choy Sum
  • Cucumber
  • Endive
  • Ginger
  • Green beans
  • Herbs (leafy, fresh or dried)
  • Lettuce (including radicchio)
  • Olives
  • Okra
  • Parsnip
  • Kabocha squash
  • Radish
  • Rutabaga (swede)
  • Seaweed
  • Spinach
  • Turnip
  • Water chestnuts
  • Zucchini

Fruit (low fruit intake on the AIP: fresh, not dried or juice)

  • Banana
  • Blueberry
  • Cantaloupe
  • Starfruit
  • Dragon Fruit
  • Grapes
  • Honeydew melon
  • Kiwi
  • Lemon
  • Lime
  • Mandarin
  • Orange
  • Papaya
  • Passionfruit
  • Pineapple
  • Raspberry
  • Rhubarb
  • Strawberry
  • Tangelo

Condiments, fats & seasoning

  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Coconut aminos
  • Herbs (leafy, fresh or dried)
  • Cinnamon
  • Turmeric
  • Ginger
  • Coconut Milk (homemade)
  • Coconut oil
  • Olive oil
  • Animal fats

There are additional foods are AIP-friendly & low-FODMAP in very small quantities

  • Beet roots (2 slices or less)
  • Broccoli (1/2 cup or less)
  • Brussels Sprouts (2 sprouts)
  • Savoy Cabbage (1/2 cup)
  • Celeriac (1/2 celeriac)
  • Butternut squash (1/4 cup)
  • Fennel bulb or leaves (1/2 cup)
  • Kale (1 cup)
  • Snow peas (5 pods)
  • Spring onion or leeks (green part only)
  • Avocado (1/8 or less)
  • Dried, shredded coconut (1/4 cup or less)

(I remain a little confused about winter squashes. Kabocha squash is listed as low-FODMAP and Butternut squash as moderate, but I don’t know, for example, about spaghetti squash. I present all this information based on my current, evolving understanding of the AIP & FODMAPs…)

Some AIP-friendly low-FODMAP recipes:

55 thoughts on “AIP low-FODMAP food list

  1. Great post Petra. As you mention there is a lot of contradictory information surrounding FODMAPs. Has Matthew been tested for SIBO? Many people who problems with FODMAPs also have SIBO. Could be an avenue worth exploring.

    1. Thanks for that suggestion. He hadn’t gone the route of testing for SIBO because he read somewhere that tests are often inconclusive, so he’s been assuming he has it & trying to address it through diet. I’ll pass your suggestion on to him so he can re-investigate, though.

      1. No worries at all. It’s worth noting that one of the leading experts in the field, Dr Siebecker says that diet alone cannot heal SIBO in adults. I’ve enclosed the link to her website so Matt can check it out some more if he wants 🙂 http://www.siboinfo.com

  2. Hi, wow I’ve been a follower for a couple weeks and you are fabulous!! You’re blogging and eating like this w your partner??? My people haven’t even given up gluten lol except my mom of all people a year after I went gf she did (mostly) as well and her joint pain is better! Anyways props for being there for your man!! Also your blogs awesome, this post is exactly what I needed (aip was not my friend, I got very sick, weak tired hungry and I gained 10 lbs in a week! Yikes!) I’m thinking whals and fodmaps (paleo though) may be my secret healing answer but of course not sure, thanks for this!! I read somewhere that all squash except butternut are low fodmaps… But I’m not 100% sure, pretty sure though 🙂 thanks again!!

    1. Thanks for being in touch! I hope you find something that works for you. I think it’s all about experimentation. And taking out FODMAPs (for example) doesn’t have to be permanent. I’d love to hear how things are going for you!

  3. Great post. I’m embarking on the low-FODMAP journey and so, so grateful to have your blog as a resource. This list had a few that I didn’t know before, like that cabbage is ok (YAY!) and that kale is better in moderation. Thank you!

    1. I know, it’s a total ‘yay!’ that cabbage is on the list… roasted cabbage is just so yummy. I recall from reading your blog that its one of your staples, too!

  4. Hi Petra,
    I’m a man of a similar age to Matthew who has struggled incredibly with PsA and is interested in the AIP.

    I was wondering if your husband would be interested in emailing me. The way you describe him and his symptoms sounds very similar to me.

  5. Great list!! I followed this in the fall of 2013 and was so confused when I had to get started, because I couldn’t find a list like this one and ended up making my own, continually changing it as I attempted to reintroduce foods. Awesome job!

  6. Such a good read thanks. Question: Without eggs, how do you balance your blood sugar level on aip with low fodmaps? I eat a tonne of eggs at the moment just to get enough energy in my diet (struggle with hypoglycaemia).

    1. Hi Chris, I’m not aware of the connection between eggs & blood sugar. Matthew remains on a low-FODMAP diet (so I am too, much of the time, by default). We eat pastured meat & low-FODMAP vegetables. Matthew eats a bit more fruit than me, I just stick with a small amount of berries. I also eat a lot of fat, because I’m mostly ketogenic. Matthew can’t eat as much fat because it provokes his nausea. But on the whole, it’s not a blood-sugar spiking protocol. It’s super nutrient-dense so we’ve had no problem with energy.

      1. Thank you. What kind of food do you have for breakfast for example? I guess i’m just overly reliant on eggs at the moment (also because they’re cheaper than meat)

      2. Eggs are cheaper than pastured meat for sure. I love them. But I haven’t eaten them for over a year because they aren’t included on anti-inflammatory protocols like the Autoimmune Protocol & the Wahls Paleo Plus. I find the best way to handle the cost of pastured meat is to eat less of it. I aim for 8oz or less of pastured meat a day. I have a couple of breakfast posts that contain more ideas: http://petra8paleo.com/2014/10/04/build-a-breakfast-aip/ & http://petra8paleo.com/2014/03/07/15-low-fodmap-aip-breakfasts/ Also, the AIP Bloggers Alliance just released a breakfast cookbook: http://www.phoenixhelix.com/85-amazing-aip-breakfasts/ that has a page in the back with low-FODMAP substitutions for the recipes. Re-imagining breakfast is like a rite of passage for starting a healing protocol~!

      3. Thanks. Breakfast seems the most intimidating – especially with the fodmaps exclusions. Going to check out your links tonight. Thanks again!

  7. Hi Petra,
    I was diagnosed with IBS-D over 10 years ago but have never fully committed to a low FODMAP diet/AIP. Having to cut OK for an Italian husband doesn’t help with eliminating nightshades either lol. I am 5 months post partum with my second child and and my IBS is worse than ever. I’m now ready to make this commitment to myself. Thank you so much for your post!

  8. Hi,
    It was so nice to see the FODMAP inclusion as I think a lot of folks need more than just AIP. I have been struggling to remember all the fodmaps when I shop as it does cut down a lot of fruit and vegetable choices. Brain fog is a constant problem so to cut down to just one list will be wonderful. Monash is constantly updating. I was wondering if you have updated the list since 2014? Thanks for all the help with the valuable tool.

  9. I was just diagnosed last April with polymyalgia rheumatica and am now discovering that I too must be on an AIP low FODMAP. Nightshades in particular are really increasing my inflammation.. This list is very helpful. Any suggestions that you might make that would help me get started?

Leave a Reply

