Rhubarb-Ginger-glazed Bok Choy with Bacon (AIP-friendly low-FODMAP)

Rhubarb Ginger Bok ChoyHere on Southern Vancouver Island, it’s officially Spring: the rhubarb is boiling up out of the ground.

As rhubarb is low-FODMAP, and one of the only foods that grows in my yard (I’m not a gardener), it only makes sense to play around with it.

rhubarbI’m working on perfecting some AIP low-FODMAP Strawberry Rhubarb Ice Cream Sandwiches but they need at least one more iteration before they’ll be share-worthy.

But this recipe is a winner. I had it for breakfast & I think I might stop in for some more Bok Choy so I can have it again tomorrow.

The rhubarb is not at all overpowering. It gives this dish a beautiful lemongrass flavour.

It’s my new favorite meal-in-one.

Rhubarb-Ginger-glazed Bok Choy with Bacon (AIP-friendly low-FODMAP)

  • Servings: A meal for one; a snack or side for two or three
  • Print

from petra8paleo

Rhubarb Ginger Bok Choy

  • 4 slices bacon
  • 1 thumb fresh ginger, peeled & minced
  • 1 finger fresh turmeric, peeled & minced (optional)
  • ½ cup chopped rhubarb (about 3 small stalks)
  • Juice & pulp of 1 orange
  • 1½ lbs Bok Choy, chopped

Fry bacon on low heat to caramelize. When brown & crisp, set aside on paper towel.

Add the ginger, turmeric (if using) & rhubarb to the hot bacon fat & sauté on low until softened.

Turn up the heat & add the contents of the orange: juice & pulp. Scrape the brown bits from the pan as it bubbles.

Add the chopped Bok Choy stalks & stir-fry for about 5 minutes until softened. Add the chopped Bok Choy greens & continue to stir-fry until bright green & just wilted.

Serve immediately, topped with crumbled bacon.

16 thoughts on “Rhubarb-Ginger-glazed Bok Choy with Bacon (AIP-friendly low-FODMAP)

  1. Petra – this looks AMAZING! I love the idea of rhubarb in a savoury dish.

    Loving the ‘print’ function on your recipes, too! Is South Vancouver Island just the southern part of Vancouver Island…? (please excuse me if that’s a dumb Q!)

    1. Well, I only just learned the shortcode for enabling the print function… thanks to your skillful use of media, actually: http://en.blog.wordpress.com/2014/03/27/embedding-media-shortcodes/. I had wondered how people did that! And yes, Southern Vancouver Island refers to the South end of the island. The South end (Victoria) is always about 3 weeks ahead of the mid-island & even further ahead of the North island at this time of year… so they may not have rhubarb ready to harvest up there yet. But soon!

      1. I have actually been to Victoria (about 23 years ago!) I spent a season in Lake Louise and had a few days in Vancouver at the beginning & end of the trip. I love Canada…

  2. I just tried this recipe out and it was delicious! I really enjoyed the flavorful ‘sauce’ that was created by the bacon fat, orange juice, turmeric and ginger.

  3. I cooked this recipe at our local farmers market in Glennallen, Alaska today as a Chef at the Market. We’ve all got rhubarb in our gardens but it mostly just gets used for deserts. Everyone loved this recipe!

  4. Oh my goodness, this was incredible!! What a fabulous recipe- it was sort of lovely that my family did like it because there was more for me:) I ate the leftovers cold for lunch 🙂

Leave a Reply

