Victorious Offal Muffins (AIP & WahlsPaleo+)

Bison liver~!

Bison liver~!

I’ve been victorious!

I was an offal wimp, but now I’m initiated.

When I made a resolution to venture into organ meats for my Paleo New Year I got heaps of helpful comments.

I decided to incorporate as many of these tips as I could into my offal adventure, including:

  1. Bison liver, as a great introductory level offal (thanks Alice!);
  2. The Paleo Mom’s 50/50/50 burgers as a way to ease in (thanks Kate!);
  3. Putting offal in ice cube trays. A tip from This Sidney Life (Though I thought it was unlikely I’d ever feel inspired to throw a cube of icy offal into my supper, this suggestion did inspire me think of my muffin tin like an ice cube tray…);
  4. The Paleo PI’s post about pureeing offal as a way to slip it in to other dishes; and
  5. The reminder that liver loves onions (thanks to my offal-loving husband Matthew).

I also employed another strategy that I am rather proud of.

bison liver pureeRather than buying offal fresh from the butcher and then a couple of days later thinking oh dear and slipping it in the freezer like I usually do, I bought it frozen at the beginning of a long string of errands.

How devious.

By the time I got home it was already slightly defrosted so I couldn’t in good conscience refreeze it.

But that was only necessary the first time.

Offal muffinsI hesitated about calling these Offal Muffins.

First off, they are only 33.3% offal

Second, they aren’t awful at all.

Okay, I didn’t love them on day one. I ate the first one with grim determination. Way too much grimness & an almost comical amount of determination. I’d been steeling myself for some time, and the bison liver slurry that I created in my food processor for this recipe was still pretty fresh in my mind.

But the thing is, bison liver made me feel good.

Having been on the Autoimmune Protocol for 3½ months and then the Wahls Paleo Plus for the past couple of weeks, I now get pretty rapid feedback about whether & how much my body likes particular foods.

It loves bison liver.

To the point where I was looking forward to having another of these muffins for breakfast before I even went to bed on day one.

Weird.

Or at least, unexpected.

Dr Terry Wahls recommends 12oz of offal a week.

Each muffin is 4oz in total, and contains 1.33oz of bison liver (as well as 1.33oz of bacon & 1.33oz of ground lamb), meaning that 9 of these are required to meet Dr. Wahls recommended dosage in a given week.

Recently, I eat one of these most days, so I’m not quite hitting the target yet.

But I’m not worrying too much about about dosage. Just now, having figured out how to cook & eat offal is a victory.

Hence Victorious Offal Muffins

Victorious Offal Muffins (AIP & WahlsPaleo+)

 from petra8paleo

  • 1 lb bison liverDay~supper
  • 1 lb ground lamb
  • 1 lb bacon, cut in small pieces
  • 1 cup caramelized onions
  • ½ cup fresh herbs: basil, marjoram, sage, thyme (or 2 tablespoons dried)
  • 1 teaspoon Himalyan salt (a little more if your bacon isn’t very salty)
  • 2 tablespoons sea vegetable flakes

Advance prep: Make caramelized onions (see recipe below). Not necessary, but yum.

Preheat oven to 350.

Fill the sink with hot soapy water as you’ll probably want to wash your food processor right away.

Puree the bison liver in a food processor.

Mix the pureed bison liver & all other ingredients thoroughly in a large bowl with your hands. Line a 12-muffin tin with paper muffins cups, and heap each with the meat muffin mixture. Pack it in & pile it high.

Place a baking sheet on the bottom rack to catch any wayward bacon fat and place the muffin tray on the top rack.

Bake for 40 minutes.

Once cooled, these muffins freeze beautifully.

To reheat, just wrap in tin foil & pop in a hot oven while you prepare your vegetables.

Caramelized onions

  • 1-2lbs onionsCaramelized onions
  • 2 or so tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup bone broth

Next time you have to spend awhile in the kitchen, peel & slice a pound or two of onions, thinly, like apples & then separate each slice into its natural layers. Melt a good amount of coconut oil in a large pan on very low heat & add the onions. Stir occasionally, adding a couple of tablespoons of bone broth whenever brown bits start to stick to the pan.When the onions are browned, reduced and gloriously sticky, they’re done. Refrigerate or freeze.

45 thoughts on “Victorious Offal Muffins (AIP & WahlsPaleo+)

  1. Well done Petra, you’ve come offally far and have taken the offal by its proverbial horns.

    I was just reading a post on the Paleo Mom’s site saying how even now she still consumes liver ground and usually mixed with muscle meat. I think it’s the tastiest way to consume it. Can’t wait to try your recipe!

  2. Pingback: Roasted Asparagus with Bitter Lemon Pesto (AIP & WahlsPaleo+) | petra8paleo

  3. Pingback: Bison tongue: I totally wimped out | petra8paleo

  4. Pingback: Kriyativity » A week of meals

  5. Thank you so much for this recipe!! I’ve been AIP Paleo since the beginning of the year (100% improvement to my Crohn’s disease!!) but eating liver has been challenging. I made these yesterday and they’re delicious!
    I really, really appreciate that you no longer hate cooking and that you share your successes and recipes!!

  6. Pingback: PB&J Ice Cream Cupcake Fudge (AIP & WalhsPaelo+) | petra8paleo

  7. Pingback: My Top-5 AIP Recipes (AIP & WahlsPaleo+) | petra8paleo

  8. Pingback: Have Heart! | petra8paleo

  9. Pingback: Build-A-Breakfast (AIP~) | petra8paleo

  10. Oh my! These muffins are delicious (made mine with the caramelized onions). I’ve just had two, out of the oven, and am having to slap my hands so I don’t eat more. Thank you! Worth handling gooey liver.

    • Talk to your local butcher or charcuterie. Sometimes they have it in the back. If they don’t have any on hand, they’ll usually be delighted you want some & happy to get it in for you. Just be sure it comes from happy animals. I’ve also used beef liver & chicken livers rather than bison liver in this recipe.

  11. I am ready to try it with chicken livers! I have all the ingredients ready to go. And, caramelized my onions yesterday. However, how does the bacon cook up? It is raw bacon you put in the recipe correct? Is it fatty, or does it crisp up in the mixture.

    • It is raw bacon, yes. It crisps up on the outside of the muffin, but not on the inside. The fat partly melds into the meat matrix, especially with thin-cut bacon. I like my bacon thick-cut for this recipe, so you can discern it. Depending on how much fat here is in your bacon (& in the ground meat) some liquid fat will pool at the the bottom of the each muffin cup after baking. As I’m all about the fat, I usually let them cool in the pan to retain that fat. When i reheat them in the oven it turns to savory liquid again, and I just pour that over my vegetables.

      If you wanted crisper bacon you could always precook it before adding it to your meat mixture~.

  12. O.K. I’m baking these right now! I did the crispy bacon, grass fed buffalo meat and chicken livers. The onions and spices too! I was very revolted when I placed the chicken livers into the food processor. If I can get past that, and they taste good, I’ll give you an update! I did put the processor into the dishwasher immediately and it is running as I bake. Update when I eat for dinner…..

    • Thanks for the play-by-play! I was revolted the first time, too. Only semi-revolted the 2nd time & then I forgot to be revolted at all after that. Now it just seems like the most natural & friendly thing in the world.

      I’m going to try duck liver next…

      • Tasty little offal muffins for dinner! It is hard to describe what they tasted like. I could taste the sweet from the caramelized onions and the smoked bacon flavor. I had also added fresh rosemary and I could smell that in the air.

        Next time, I would do 1/4 the liver, and double the bacon. But, yummy all in all. Now, the great thing is I have 6 to freeze. And another 4 to eat during the week. They will make a quick breakfast with my green smoothie, and a little zucchini or cabbage on the side. Thanks for a great website.

  13. They remind me more of meatballs than cupcakes so I made a sauce using coconut milk, mushrooms, onions and a splash of apple cider vinegar and threw the meatball into the pan and cooked to desired consistancy. I served it over kelp noodles. Yum! ACV makes coconut milk taste like sour cream.

  14. I’m going out of town for two months and I won’t have a complete kitchen where I’m going. So, I’m making enough of these to take with me for the trip. Considering that I usually eat one a day (on average), that’s a lot of muffins! My place looks like a meatball factory! I used a variety of guts and spices for variety, some with hearts and turmuric, some of these (with liver and bacon) and some with kidneys and ginger. I added fennel seed to some, celery to others many with onions and seaweed. I’m hooked on them! Allison

    • Awesome! I’m kind of hooked on them, too. My favourite variation currently is to mince 2 bunches of parsley in the food processor (after pureeing the liver) and adding that in place of the onion. Super food!

  15. That’s a good way to add greens. I’m thinking of adding spinach to the next batch. Cooked greens are better for me than raw salad.

  16. Pingback: petra8paleo (Circa 2014) | petra8paleo

  17. Pingback: Hot Woman Shake (AIP & WahlsPaleo+) | petra8paleo

  18. Completely obsessed with these muffins. Eating one for breakfast every morning. Can’t wait to try with spinach! Thanks so much for the recipe.

  19. Pingback: Biohacking Update: 10 months of Ketosis | petra8paleo

  20. Pingback: Mason Jar Salads (2 go!) | petra8paleo

  21. The description of liver slurry is pretty accurate, so at least I knew what to expect! These mighty meaty muffins are very tasty, though. I even managed to interest number 2 son (aged 4), who’s not usually that much of a meat monster 🙂 (Number 1 son, 6, loved them, too). I made mine with lamb’s liver (it’s the meat I get most reliably get grass-fed), and 50/50 beef and pork mince, and only about half the bacon because it has a really strong flavour, along with the caramelized onions and I loved them first time. Thank you!!!

    • You absolutely could. I’m defrosting some ground elk for my next batch right now. And I’ve also started using chopped Wild Board belly instead of bacon~. Use what you have (and what you like).

  22. Pingback: Victorious Offal Muffins: the Uncured Remix (AIP & low-FODMAP) | petra8paleo

  23. Pingback: Link Love: Organ Meat Recipes | Phoenix Helix

  24. Pingback: day i’ve lost count! – My AIP Journey

  25. RE: Carmelized Onions….I thought onions were NOT allowed on AIP/Low FODmap acceptable foods. However leek,(green onion tops), are O.K.
    I’m confused! Thank-you for sharing your recipes
    Nancy

Leave a Reply

