Strawberry Shortcake Fudge (AIP & WahlsPaleo+)

strawberry shortcake fudge 3I eat fudge every day!

And as we’re coming up on strawberry season here on Vancouver Island, it only made sense to create a strawberry shortcake version.

The shortcake in this fudge is a delicious illusion created by toasting coconut butter until it’s golden brown & cake-like.

Then add fresh strawberries & top everything with strawberry fudge.

Easy & so yummy!

Wahls Paleo Plusstrawberry shortcake fudge

I eat fudge daily because I’ve found it to be the most effective way to stay ketogenic on the WahlsPaleo+ (I explain a little bit about the relationship between coconut oil & ketosis in my Blue Raspberry Fudge post).

Berry fudge has become my go-to because it has minimal ingredients, waits patiently for me in the fridge, is pre-portioned to provide perfect doses of coconut oil, and complements any meal.

You could have up to 4 of these a day and still be within your 1 cup of berries recommended on the WahlsPaleo+. I usually eat one or two with breakfast and one with supper, but it depends on what else I’m eating, how hungry I am & whether I need to boost my coconut oil consumption.

If you decide to incorporate fudge into your ketogenic strategy, it will be most effective if you can overcome any residual dessert-last conditioning. Eat the fudge with other foods to ensure that your body can incorporate the coconut oil as it decides how to process your food.

This fudge recipe has a little more coconut oil & a little less coconut butter than my Blue Raspberry Fudge, making it lower in carbohydrates & higher in fat. All to the good.

Sourcing strawberries

I normally don’t specify that ingredients ought to be organic or local or pastured.

I figure we all aspire to do what we can to source quality food.

However, strawberries vary enormously. For superlative fudge, use 1 cup of fresh local strawberries.

For an eminently edible, perfectly acceptable, but perhaps not life-changing fudge, those gargantuan organic supermarket strawberries work too. I’ve made it both ways.

Use 1 cup of fresh berries, either way. The remaining 2 cups of strawberries can be frozen, as long as they’re warm when you whirl the fudge mixture.

Strawberry Shortcake Fudge (AIP & WahlsPaleo+)

 from petra8paleostrawberry shortcake fudge 2

  • 1 1/4 cups coconut butter
  • 1  1/4 cups coconut oil
  • 1 cup fresh strawberries
  • 2 cups fresh or frozen strawberries

Preheat oven to 300

Warm the coconut butter &  2 cups of berries in the oven in 2 separate oven-proof bowls.

Line a 12-muffin tin with paper muffin cups.

After 10 minutes, remove the coconut butter from the oven. Pour 1 tablespoon of warm coconut butter into each muffin cup.

Place muffin tin in warm oven for 6 minutes or until the coconut butter is a friendly brown colour. Remove from the oven to cool.

Meanwhile, re-measure the remaining coconut butter. It tends to take up more space when cold, so you’ll probably need to top the remainder up to ensure you have 3/4 cup. Return to the oven and turn off the heat.

When the strawberries in the oven are warm (this will take a little longer if you started with frozen berries) and the coconut butter is warm & soft, place both in a food processor with the coconut oil & whirl until fully combined.

Divide the 1 cup fresh strawberries between the 12 muffin cups. Slice them, if necessary.

Pour the strawberry fudge mixture over top to fill each muffin cup to the brim.

Refrigerate all day or overnight.

Store in the refrigerator.

Wahl’s Paleo Plus

If you’re on the WahlsPaleo+ you’ll be tracking your food.

1 piece of fudge:

  • 1.5 tablespoons coconut butter
  • 1.5 tablespoons coconut oil
  • ¼ cup berries

Have one or two pieces of fudge as part of a meal that includes green leafy & sulfur-rich vegetables & some animal protein~.

 

 

 

41 thoughts on “Strawberry Shortcake Fudge (AIP & WahlsPaleo+)

  1. I don’t have local strawberries, so I used grocery store version. I have a bit of the fudge left so I ate it soft….yummy! Think I’m going to try strawberry rhubarb, mixed berry and even peach. Thanks these are going to make a wonderful Mother’s Day treat for myself 🙂

      1. I’m going to try a peaches and cream version, using the cream from canned coconut milk. The only one I use is Natural Value. I’ll let you know when I do. I just put a can of coconut milk in the refrigerator, so it will be a bit. Oh yes, I also need to buy some more peaches 🙂

      2. Let me know how it goes! I tried using coconut cream from tinned coconut milk & it wasn’t quite as rock-star awesome, but maybe that’s because I didn’t use peaches! Mmmm. I love peaches… They might be one thing that causes me to deviate (slightly) from the Wahls Paleo Plus.

      3. Try it! I try weird things all the time: only the stuff that works makes it on to my blog. It’s the only way to find out what works! Let me know how it turns out…

    1. I’ll let you know as soon as I buy some more peaches and give it a try. I’m also going to use this recipe and make peach pie. 🙂

  2. I just made these last night to start slowly upping my fat intake in lieu of carbs and they are AMAZING. It is also very easy to have just one with a meal and be done, which is perfect for me and my tendency to overindulge. Wow. I would not have thought simply toasting part of the coconut would make such a difference, but it does.
    Do you make your own coconut butter?

    1. I know. The toasted coconut butter totally replicates cake for me. Hard to believe there’s only two ingredients in these: coconut & strawberries! I don’t make my own coconut butter. Coconut butter in a jar is one of the only foods I can eat that comes ready-made from the grocery store & I completely take advantage of that!

    1. Coconut Butter is a weird one because stores often don’t know where to put it. I’ve found it in the ethnic food, baking, gluten free, oils, peanut butter & health food sections. Sometimes in more than one of those aisles in the same store! It’s sometimes called creamed coconut or coconut manna. Health food stores carry it & supermarkets with a healthier-food orientation ought to carry it, but you might need to ask them to start. One thing I haven’t done yet, but plan to try soon, is using coconut cream from tinned coconut in place of coconut butter in berry fudge. I think it might work well & would definitely be cheaper. You could always try that & let me know how it goes! Scroll down this post to find the coconut cream recipe: https://petra8paleo.wordpress.com/2014/06/10/morning-brew/

  3. These are SUPER DELICIOUS! I could eat these all day. Literally. Obviously my body needs the fat…it feels like I’m cheating they’re so tasty, but I don’t have the sugar crash afterward. I have no idea how you thought up the brown “cake” part at the bottom of the cupcake, but it totally makes it! Thank you so much for sharing!!

  4. Thank you so much for putting the amounts at the bottom of the recipe to help with food tracking! I made myself crazy today trying to figure it out and then I saw the bottom of the post! Woohoo! Also I saw in the comments you were going to try to make blackberry-avocado-lime version. I did a search but couldn’t find it in the blog…..did you ever end up making it?

  5. I made this with blueberries (this time) and they weren’t very flavorful berries. So, I sprinkled vanilla powder between the layers and the “fudge” was fantastic (and beautiful). Purple is my favorite color! I now have red and purple. Next I’m going for orange and yellow. Any suggestions with berries?

  6. Orange salmon berries are perhaps my favorite berry of all time, but you’d have to be in the Pacific Northwest in the late Spring to find those. Maybe for yellow you could try pineapple, for piña colada fudge! And if you wanted to continue with a tropical theme, mango or papaya would make a gorgeous orange. And, of course, avocado~lime for green…

  7. How about persimmons?! I was going through the fresh produce sites and this hit me as a possibility for a low sugar orange fruit. No one has salmon berries but I found a site that sells the plant.

    1. Hi Allison, I’ve never cooked with persimmons, but I did eat them in a fancy restaurant in San Francisco once. My only hesitation was that they might belong to the nightshade family (for people on the AIP), but based on a quick google search, they don’t seem to. Persimmon fudge sounds wonderfully gourmet! Let me know how it turns out if you try it…

  8. Any way to omit or substitute for the coconut butter? I can digest the oil, but the butter is too much indigestible fiber and I get pain & bloating from it. Also have problems w/coconut flour. Frankly, I would love to just use coconut milk and oil if possible. Maybe powdered gelatin? Thanks, I would really like to be able to use this recipe.

    1. Gelatin mixed with coconut milk is an excellent idea. It would be an experiment. Perhaps a little more like these Berry Gummies: http://petra8paleo.com/2015/01/14/berry-gummies-werewolf-antidote/ I’ve never added coconut oil to gelatin before, so I’m not entirely sure what would happen. I’m just thinking about the way that fat rises to the top when gelatinous bone broth is chilled. Would the coconut oil separate? Hmm, now I’m curious & I want to try it. If you do it first, let me know what happens…

  9. Pingback: Low Carb Lovelies
  10. The strawberry shortcake fudge looks amazing… following your blog with interest. Almost two weeks into aip… after attempting to start it too many times to count. Next step is to tackle my awful sleep habit!

Leave a Reply

