My ancestors came from candy-land

sweetsReally. They were candy makers.

They made candy in Northern England and when they came to Canada, they kept making candy.

There is still a Sweet Shop here in Victoria that was started my forebears.

As an aside, my grandfather wasn’t allowed into his candy-making grandparents’ house, because his mother, Bertha Bland (what a wonderfully unfortunate name), had been a factory-worker in the old country.

And they were lofty candy-makers.

So my grandfather, young Kenneth George, was only permitted on his grandparent’s front porch, whereas the other grandchildren could come & go into the house as they pleased.

My ancestors brought their classism & their candy with them.

That’s how I come to be from candy-land.

Or biscuit land.UK made from biscuits

Just ponder what all those biscuits are doing to people internally.

Another of my ancestors was a King of Scotland. Sort of a wimpy king, if you’ve ever watched Braveheart: Robert the Bruce.

I’ve already written a bit about my dismal experience as a vegetarian in Scotland.

But all this rambling about British stodge has a point.

The point is I’m descended from candy-making, biscuit-consuming, classist, wimpy colonists.

The health of their intestinal flora can’t have been great, even way back when they were colonizing this great land, and this thought has lead me to wonder about gut health & colonialism.

When all those biscuit eaters with their disorderly intestinal flora and associated nervous complaints arrived here, what did they find?

People eating a perfect paleo diet who were probably enjoying magnificent gut health. If all the research (and my own experience) about the correlation between mental health & gut health is to be believed, Indigenous people were probably also enjoying psychological well-being.

How galling.

All these happy people. How dare they?

Have another biscuit.

We really need to do something.

And that something was done.

The irony was not lost on me as I drove to work one morning last week, having had bison liver and an avocado and a smoothie made from dandelion greens for breakfast, and I saw three Indigenous kids walking to school with lollipops in their mouths.

The candy makers were thorough.

Just one more reason I am continuing my experiment in nutritional ethics on the Wahls Paleo Plus.

 I found the biscuit map here.

8 thoughts on “My ancestors came from candy-land

  1. I’ve thought about this too. And about how our definition of well-being differed perhaps from being happy to being dominant. Although being dominant was pretty important to indigenous peoples also. Maybe the idea of being happy is finally infiltrating human consciousness.

    1. It would be interesting to study the different personal & cultural definitions of happiness in relation to individual & collective gut health. In the presence of disrupted psychological well-being due to disrupted gut health, do people tend to resort to power & control? (Or shopping, overeating, drinking alcohol, or too much coffee?) All in an attempt to find the happiness that is always out of reach?

  2. It’s a great point you raise about the impact of the Western Diet/Lifestyle on unsuspecting indigenous populations. Hopefully the more we spread the message about proper nutrition the more society as a whole will understand the impact of nutrition on health outcomes.

Leave a Reply

