PB&J Ice Cream Cupcake Fudge (AIP & WalhsPaelo+)

windowsill fudge 2When I was a kid, my dad had a repertoire of 4 recipes:

  1. Unleavened pancakes made with with brewer’s yeast & raisins;
  2. Salad made with purple cabbage in a purple plastic bowl;
  3. Spaghetti (a tin of mushroom soup & a tin of tomato soup made the sauce. Sometimes he’d puree a cube of tofu in there, too); &
  4. Soup: made by combining  leftover salad & spaghetti with water.

We had to finish the soup before there was fresh round of spaghetti & salad, so spaghetti & salad day was always exciting.

The other foods we always had on hand were bread & peanut butter & jam. In those days, if there was a problem, PB&J toast was the solution.

Still life with PB&J fudge

Icon by Elaine Savoie

My dad is still has a toast habit.

Even when I’m making us a fabulous & plentiful AIP breakfast, it is incomplete for him without toast.

He rummages in the freezer to find the kid’s gluten free bread, makes toast, & then eats toast (with jam) while I cook. Then he says, maybe I shouldn’t have eaten that toast, when I serve him up a gorgeous plateful of avocado, sauerkraut, muffins made with bison liver, greens & fudge.

But I know he’ll do the same next time. The toaster is like a Strange Attractor for him.

It isn’t for me. Anymore.

It wasn’t until I made this version of berry fudge, that I realized I still had friendly, comforting associations with PB&J toast. For me, this fudge recipe is completely reminiscent of my childhood standby.

Berry Fudge

Berry Fudge is my strategy for maintaining ketosis on the Wahls Paleo Plus. I eat a piece with almost every meal & explain why in my recipe for Blue~Raspberry Fudge. The idea to freeze the fudge came from Eileen at Phoenix Helix. It’s her husband’s innovation & I always freeze my fudge now. It’s more of a party that way.

This is my fourth variation of fudge & really, it’s just a adaptation of my Strawberry Shortcake Fudge.

My Dad

My Dad. His Kitchen.

I’ve made PB&J fudge with all kinds of berries & it’s the combination of raspberries & strawberries that are perfectly reminiscent of the super-sweet, super-cheap jam in a tin can my dad used to buy back in the day. The toasted coconut butter kind of perfectly replicates the spirit of both the toast & the peanut butter.

I don’t usually emulate my dad’s food habits, but he’s a great, existentialist-turned-Buddhist dad. This one’s for him.

PB&J Ice Cream Cupcake Fudge (AIP & WahlsPaleo+)

 from petra8paleoRock & PB&J fudge

  • 1¼ cups coconut butter
  • 1¼ cups coconut oil
  • 1½ cups fresh or frozen strawberries
  • 1½ cups fresh or frozen raspberries

Preheat oven to 300

Warm the coconut butter & berries in the oven in 2 separate oven-proof bowls.

Line a 12-muffin tin with paper muffin cups.

After 10 minutes, remove the coconut butter from the oven. Pour 1 tablespoon of warm coconut butter into each muffin cup.

Place muffin tin back in the oven for 8 minutes or until the coconut butter is a friendly brown colour. Remove.

Meanwhile, re-measure the remaining coconut butter. It tends to take up more space when cold, so you might need to top the remainder up to ensure you have 3/4 cup, especially on a cold day. Return the coconut butter to the oven and turn off the heat.

When the strawberries in the oven are warm (this will take longer ~obviously~ if you started with frozen berries) and the coconut butter is warm & soft, place both in a food processor with the coconut oil & whirl until fully combined.

Pour the raspberry-strawberry fudge mixture over top of the toasted coconut butter to fill each muffin cup to the brim.

Freeze the fudge in the muffin tin & then transfer to a glass container or freezer bag once set.

Let the fudge defrost for 4-5 minutes before eating.

This fudge is particularly heavenly after it has been in the freezer for just an hour or so ~frozen on the outside but still soft inside. Definitely have a piece then.

window fudge

 

19 thoughts on “PB&J Ice Cream Cupcake Fudge (AIP & WalhsPaelo+)

  1. Yum, thank you, happy to have new flavour to add to my freezer fudge collection. Just thought I would share with you that my last batch (Avo, Lime and Blackberry) I poured straight into the bun tin without the paper cases. The paper cases always soak up the oil, slightly taste the fudge and look ugly. It was a big success. After refrigerating I stood the bun tin in warm water for a few seconds to loosen the fudge and then sealed in tubs and popped into the freezer, much nicer!

    • Thanks for the tip! I’m making a fresh batch this morning & I’m going to try that. I use parchment paper liners, which don’t cause any of the issues you’ve been experiencing, but I do go through a lot of them & don’t like throwing them away. Okay, I’m excited!

      • Update on the fudge-without-paper-muffin-cups experiment: it sort of worked, but a fair bit of fudge got left behind in the muffin tin for each piece & the fudge pieces all looked a bit battered after extrication. Perfectly edible & very adequate for maintaining ketosis, but not quite as pretty. At least the way I did it! In a pinch, I’d do it again, but generally I think I’ll stick with the muffin cup approach. Sounds like Zoe has had trouble with the paper. I use parchment paper muffin cups & they work beautifully…

  2. Pingback: My Top-5 AIP Recipes (AIP & WahlsPaleo+) | petra8paleo

  3. Pingback: ~Gyros: Greek Meatballs & Tzatziki (AIP & WahlsPaleo+) | petra8paleo

  4. Pingback: Build-A-Breakfast (AIP~) | petra8paleo

  5. Can you think of a substitute for the coconut butter? I’ve noticed that it causes gut issues and nasal drainage when I eat very much. This has been happening with coconut butter and cream and to a lesser degree coconut milk. Coconut oil seems to be no problem. Thanks!

    • Perhaps you could experiment with substituting avocado, which, like coconut butter, would add both carbohydrate & fat to the mix. Obviously, avocado would change both the taste & the colour of this fudge. I always add avocado in my fudge these days (in addition to coconut butter).

      • Thank you for the suggestion. I just ate some with coconut butter and now feel sick to my stomach. Guess my son gets the rest of it! I used avocado, coconut butter and coconut oil for the base and tart cherries for the gelatin topping. It was a take on your macronutrient cupcakes. I wanted red and green for Christmas. I’ll just leave out the coconut butter and see how it goes.

    • I’m out of coconut butter and was thinking of substituting cacao butter. I always make strawberry flavored and they seem like they would taste good with cacao butter.

  6. Has anyone tried these in a square or rectangle dish and cut into bars? I might try but was wondering if someone else already tried and if they fall apart. 🙂

      • Awesome, thanks! Just bought coconut butter to try this. Though now that i have it, I realize it is almost the same as creamed coconut! Anyway, these look delicious, and should help me get a bit more fats into my daily intake.

  7. I’m halfway through my first batch of ‘pb&j’ fudge. Thank you for this! I’ve realized recently that i’m not drawn toward fats and these really help me to get enough fats. In fact, if i remember to eat one of these each day while consuming raw vegetables, I can DIGEST the vegetables, which is revolutionary for this veggie-lovin’ gal. 🙂 Reading more about Wahls protocol, learning lots. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

