Wildcrafting: Figuring It Out As You Go

I’ve been on a mini-mission. Off the side of my life.

kelpI’ve been working on upgrading my wildcrafting skills.

Hence the recipes for rose petals, rosehips, blackberries, salal berries, stinging nettles and dandelion greens.

This month it’s kelp.

The Kelp Story

It’s a good story.

We were spreading my mum’s ashes on the Salish Sea. My sister and I had arranged for a flotilla of double kayaks and stand-up paddle boards so everyone could paddle out together.

It was sunny. Late afternoon.

Some people were swimming. One of the children swam up with an entire kelp and plopped it on my paddle board. “Here.” he said. And swam away.

kelp 2A gift from the ocean.

It looked edible. I could see the little plastic shaker in my spice cabinet labelled ‘kelp flakes’ in my mind. This thing looked like about 450 shaker’s worth.

I’ve been trying to eat sea vegetables every day for some time now.

So I accepted the gift.

My car was overfull with teenagers when we left the beach, but I made them incorporate the kelp.

It lay on the porch over night, and all the next morning while we attended my mum’s celebration of life.

kelp 3As we were leaving that day, I threw the kelp into a tote, herded the teenagers back into the car. On to the ferry. Back to the city.

The kelp spent another night outdoors, but in the morning after I took my #1 kid to the airport, I googled what do with a ginormous kelp. I was imagining something elaborate and labour-intensive involving scissors & an oven. But (another gift!) it turned out to be way simpler than that.

In a couple of days it had air dried.

Now I have kelp!

Drying kelp 2

Drying kelp

About 450 shaker's worth

 

 

4 thoughts on “Wildcrafting: Figuring It Out As You Go

  1. Did you make pickles with the bulb? When I was a kid we used to make dolls with bull kelp. My brothers of course made whips with the anchor.
    How are you doing? I’ve been thinking of you and your loss.

  2. I wish I were as enterprising as you, P… When I think of all the kelp that came ashore on the west coast at surf beaches when I was a child in NZ – what a wasted opportunity! Looking forward to your next kelp instalment!

  3. Pingback: Superfood Scavenger Salad~ (AIP & Wahlspaleo+) | petra8paleo

Leave a Reply

