Macronutrient Cupcakes (AIP & WahlsPaleo+)

Macro Cupcakes 2Yesterday in my Fun with Fudge post, I admitted that ‘Macronutrient Cupcakes’ is not the sexiest name of all time.

However, if you’re geeky about nutrition (& I’d say that if you’re into the Autoimmune Protocol, you’re already officially sitting at the nerd table in the cafeteria of life) it’s pretty thrilling to find all your macronutrients in one easy-to-assimilate cupcake.

Macro Cupcake
Raspberry-avocado fudge with blueberry gelatin

Where do the macronutrients come from?

  • Protein from grass-fed gelatin;
  • Fat from avocado & coconut oil;
  • Carbohydrate from berries & coconut butter.

Add a Victorious Offal Muffin &  a few handfuls of greens & you could live on these!

Macronutrient cupcakes fit beautifully into my Build-a-Breakfast strategy, in which breakfast (or any meal) is constructed out of ready-made units. Constructing meals out of ready-made units allows for ever-evolving combinations, which ensures variety & makes a strict dietary protocol easy, including on weekday mornings.

Put Macronutrient Cupcakes into your rotation!

Rosehip~raspberry~avocado
Blueberry-avocado fudge with rosehip-raspberry gelatin

Macronutrient Cupcakes (AIP & WahlsPaleo+)

 from petra8paleoMacro Cupcakes again

  • 3 herbal tea bags
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • 1 cup coconut butter
  • 1 1/4 cups coconut oil
  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 2 cups fresh or defrosted raspberries
  • 2 cups fresh or defrosted blueberries
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla powder
  • 3 tablespoons Gelatin

Advance prep

Steep the 3 herbal tea bags in 1 cup boiling water. You can do this 2-12 hours in advance. The tea should be strong & cool before you proceed with the gelatin.

The raspberries should be room temperature.

Raspberry~Avocado Fudge

Preheat oven to 300

Put the coconut butter & oil in an oven-proof bowl & warm in the oven for 15 minutes.

Meanwhile, line an 18-muffin tin (or tins) with parchment muffin cups.

Put the room-temperature raspberries & avocado in a food processor & whirl to combine.

Remove the coconut butter & oil from the oven & add to the food processor bowl. Whirl thoroughly to combine & spoon into each muffin cup, filling each 3/4 full.

Place the muffin tin in the refrigerator or freezer while you prepare the gelatin.

Blueberry Gelatin

In a saucepan, heat the blueberries & Vanilla Powder with half a cup of the steeped & cooled herbal tea until hot & bubbling.

Pour the remaining half cup of cool tea in a wide bowl and sprinkle the gelatin on top. Stir to combine, pressing out any lumps of gelatin with the back of the spoon.

Puree the hot blueberry mixture in a food processor (no need to wash it after the fudge) & add the hot puree to the waiting gelatin. Stir to combine, ensuring the gelatin is fully dissolved.

Spoon the gelatin mixture on top of the fudge in each muffin cup.

Refrigerate several hours until set. Lift each Macronutrient Cupcake out of the tin and store them in a glass container in the fridge.

These freeze well.

26 thoughts on “Macronutrient Cupcakes (AIP & WahlsPaleo+)

  1. I may be officially sitting at the nerd table in the cafeteria of life (and very happy about it) BUT on the nerd continuum, I reckon you trump me, my blogging buddy…

    Will be making these babies.

  2. Hi Petra. I’m not on this yet; but have been carrying Dr. Terry Wahl’s book around for a few months now. I live on Hornby and am wondering how many of these products I can buy without having to make them. Grass fed gelatin, etc. Coconut vinegar? Etc. I’ve been eating low carb for a long time, so that won’t be a problem. Giving up eggs and dairy (cream for my coffee) will be a stretch.
    I read your blogs with interest and love the recipes. I haven’t made any yet, but I’m keeping them.
    Keep up the good work and thanks for sharing your thoughts and experiences.
    Best,
    Phyllis

    1. Hi Phyllis! You can buy grass-fed gelatin & other biohacking foodstuffs at Health Essentials in Victoria http://www.myhealthessentials.ca/. They offer free shipping in Canada on ordered over $100. They also carry additive-free tinned coconut milk, MCT oil & have a good deal on coconut oil. I’ve never tried coconut vinegar (I use ACV & balsamic) but I’ve seen it in health-oriented stores. Grass-fed gelatin is also available on amazon, but the shipping is prohibitive in Canada, so that’s better option for people in the states. You could try coconut cream in coffee. Yum. And Health Essentials has low-toxin bulletproof coffee, too, btw…

  3. I’ve certainly become more geeky on my journey with RA and being on the AIP diet full time now; love this science stuff now – hated it in school!! Just made these and they look awesome, must let them set!!!

  4. Hi Petra! I’ve been keto/aip for 4 months and I totally agree that nutritional ketosis is the best place for by physical and mental well being. I’m struggling with getting enough macros because I get satiated and don’t want to eat more. I know I desperately need to heal (multiple autoimmune issues and leaky gut) and without the necessary “building blocks” that won’t happen. So….I’m making this fudge tonight!! Thank you for all your wonderful recipes and encouragement. Hugs!!

    1. Vanilla powder is ground vanilla bean. Alcohol is not AIP-friendly, so most people who are on the AIP avoid vanilla extract. As with everything AIP, you’ll want to use one that is 100% vanilla: no fillers & no sweeteners. I use ‘bulletproof executive’ brand as it’s low-toxin & designed to maximize vanilla’s anti-inflammatory properties: https://www.bulletproofexec.com/vanilla/

      1. Thank you Petra, i will check out your article. As well, I will seek out a replacement for the geletin. I have experienced the opposite with my nutrition wellness journey. My healing and soothing of my auto immune disorder has come from a vegetarian (almost vegan) diet. Amazing how we are all so different in our healing!
        I send you tremendous love and light on your personal and your husbands journey to health and wellness! Thank you so much for giving the world your priceless info! I absolutely appreciate your efforts and love!! Xo.

  5. Thank you for these recipes that are making my transition from primal to ketogenic AIP a lot easier. I was thinking I might starve to death. Can you tell me the approx volume of the muffins as in what would be one serve? I went to buy muffin tins yesterday and got minis but am now thinking you mean normal sized muffins?

  6. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d without a doubt donate to this fantastic blog!

    I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding
    your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new
    updates and will share this blog with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

  7. These are fantastic! They remind me of cream cheese and jelly. I can see many uses with the “fudge” and other ingredients for dips, spreads, salmon and salad toppings. I miss cheese and this is a good replacement.

  8. Does the flavor of tea make a huge difference? What do you use? Also, I was thinking of trying pumpkin as the binder, maybe half pumpkin, half banana as I’m not sure I can tolerate plantain. Any thoughts?

    1. The flavour of the tea doesn’t make a huge difference. Now that it’s winter & I’m using only frozen raspberries, I’m actually replacing the tea with the juice that accumulates when raspberries are defrosted. Makes the gelatin part even more flavourful! I’m not sure which recipe you are thinking about for the pumpkin/banana combo but green plantain is a powerful binding agent. You could certainly try a variation, but I don’t think you’d get the same result. Maybe you’d end up with a whole new recipe that is delicious in its own right!

Leave a Reply

