Ginger~Turmeric Yams

Yams 3I went through a long yam-free period when I was experimenting with a super low-carb variation of the Autoimmune Protocol. But I’m back~!

And having taken roots &  squashes out, I am now about to discern exactly what high-quality carbohydrates do for me.

Every 3-4 days I need some root foods or my vitality plummets. Which is exactly the level that Dr Terry Wahls recommends on her ketogenic (Wahls Paleo Plus) protocol.

I could have just taken her word for it, but I had to find out for myself. I triangulated her recommendation!

And now I understand the value of carbs for my peak performance.

Previously, we always made yam fries in the oven, which are heavenly, but when they get crispy they blacken, which isn’t at all healthful. So this is our new super-simple extremely delicious way to optimize life with yams~.

Ginger~Turmeric Yams (AIP & WahlsPaleo+)

 from petra8paleoYams

Preheat the oven to 320 (or preheat the BBQ on low)

  • 2 small yams
  • 1 finger turmeric root
  • 1 finger ginger root
  • 2 tablespoons coconut oil
  • ½ teaspoon Himalayan salt (or similar)

Peel and dice the yams. Place them in a small dutch oven with a lid or on a square of (heavy duty) tin foil of sufficient size to wrap them up.

Peel and finely dice the turmeric and ginger.

Place the turmeric, ginger, coconut oil and salt in a saucepan over medium-low heat. Melt the coconut oil & let the spices sizzle. Pour this mixture over the yams. Wrap the foil, if using, around them to create a plump package.

Bake (or BBQ) for 40-50 minutes, or until soft.

One thought on “Ginger~Turmeric Yams

Leave a Reply

