Fully-loaded Avocado Chicken Salad

Loaded Avocado

But first, some ruminations from those moments when I hate cooking~

Hating cooking is a first world problem.

But even so, it’s real.

I know because I hate cooking.

Less than I used to, but still, it’s one of the last things I’d do if I had a choice & one of the first functions I’d outsource if I got a zillion dollars.

Nevertheless, I have this food blog. Full of recipes.

My grandma Naomi hated cooking, too.

Did it ever occur to her that life was not going to involve cooking every single day until she died? Not once. She cooked every day, because in her generation, preference was irrelevant.

Obviously, lots of people love cooking. My #1 kid has devoted her career to it.

Cooking, like gardening, is a leisure activity for some & a vile chore for others.

What’s the difference?

Leisure vs Work

Levitt & Dubner, the guys who wrote the Freakonomics books, say “it’s work if someone tells you to do it and leisure if you choose to do it yourself.”

I’m not sure that’s true, as almost nobody ever tells me to do anything (I’ve pretty much constructed my life that way). But nevertheless there are things I consider to be work.

Like work.

I wouldn’t quibble with their statement if it was rephrased: it’s work if you have to do it and leisure if you choose to do it.

But then, choice is an interesting concept.

Is choice about doing what we prefer? Or choosing how we respond?

Viktor_Frankl

Viktor Frankl

Viktor Frankl had a profound revelation about the nature of choice during the three years he spent living in German concentration camps.

The only member of his family who entered the camps to survive, his realization was: “The last of human freedoms – to choose one’s attitude in any given set of circumstances, to choose one’s own way.”

It is in our power to choose how to respond.

So, though I might cavil a bit with Levitt & Dubner, I agree with the spirit of their assertion: perhaps it’s work if you have to do it and leisure if you choose to. You can choose, therefore to make your work your leisure.

Which loops us back to cooking. Choice or necessity?

If you find, as I have, that cooking is a necessity, you can choose to find ways to hate it less.

Including using cooking as a practice for choice.

And, because we have choice, by employing strategies for cooking less. Like making extra, so you have cooked chicken thighs (for example) on hand to make this this fully-loaded avocado chicken salad.

No cooking (just assembly) required.

My choice~.

 

Fully-loaded Avocado Chicken Salad (AIP & WahlsPaleo+)

 from petra8paleoLoaded Avocado 2

  • 1 large or 2 small ripe Avocados
  • 2 cooked chicken thighs
  • 1 bunch cilantro
  • 3 tablespoons additive-free coconut milk
  • 3 tablespoons lime juice
  • ½ teaspoon Himalayan salt (or similar)

Cut the Avocado(s) in half & remove the pit(s).

Dice the chicken. Chop the cilantro.

Mix them together with the coconut milk, lime juice and salt. Divide this mixture between each avocado half & enjoy immediately.

One thought on “Fully-loaded Avocado Chicken Salad

Leave a Reply

