Victorious Offal Muffins: the Uncured Remix (AIP & low-FODMAP)

Offal muffin supperI created these muffins a year ago as a way to overcome my squeamishness about eating organ meat. Since then, Victorious Muffins have become an absolute staple at our house, because:

  • They freeze beautifully & reheat quickly (even from frozen) in the oven, making them a perfect AIP ‘fast food’;
  • They provide  a regular dosage of organ meat without ever having to decide ‘today is the day I am going to prepare & eat a weeks worth of liver’ (because that day might never come);
  • They make me feel GREAT~! I specifically plan to have one for breakfast on days when I have to facilitate a challenging meeting or make an important presentation at work.

Over the past year we’ve tried all kinds:

  1. Ground elk, venison, water buffalo & lamb;
  2. Liver from ducks, lambs, cows, chickens & bison;
  3. Wild boar bacon, pork belly & wild boar belly;
  4. Various vegetable & herb combinations.

Victorious MuffinsAt the moment, Matthew is on an extreme gut-healing protocol that omits cured meats (no bacon~!) and allows very limited carbohydrates. Therefore, this version of the Victorious Offal Muffin recipe is the ‘Uncured Remix’. Unlike the original recipe, this remix is low-FODMAP & is also compliant with Matthew’s current protocol (as outlined by in her book Digestive Health with Real Food). Victorious Muffins 3

Victorious Offal Muffins: the uncured remix (AIP & low-FODMAP)

 from petra8paleoVictorious Offal Muffins

  • 2 bunches (or a 1lb bin) of spinach
  • ½ cup bone broth
  • 1 lb liver (bison, lamb, veal, chicken or duck)
  • 1 lb ground meat (lamb, beef, vension or elk)
  • 1 lb pork belly (or wild boar belly), cut in bite-sized pieces
  • ½ cup fresh herbs (basil, marjoram, sage, thyme, savory), chopped fine
  • 1 tablespoon Himalyan salt

Preheat oven to 350. Fill the sink with hot soapy water, as you’ll probably want to wash your food processor right away.

Line a 12-muffin tin with paper muffins cups.

Trim the root ends & wash the spinach, unless your spinach is prewashed.

In a large saucepan, cook the spinach gently in the bone broth until thoroughly wilted.

Meanwhile, puree the liver in a food processor. Transfer the pureed liver to a large mixing bowl.

Don’t worry about scraping the food processor bowl out too thoroughly: just add the wilted spinach & bone broth in & whirl briefly again.

Mix the pureed liver, the spinach & bone broth puree, and all other ingredients thoroughly in a large bowl with your hands& heap each muffin cup with this mixture. Pack it in & pile it high.

Bake for 40 minutes.

Once cooled, these muffins freeze beautifully. To reheat, just pop one or more into a hot oven while you tidy the kitchen & prepare your vegetables.

For a meal that’s low-FODMAP & compliant with ‘s gut-healing protocol, serve with Carrot Tarragon Bisque.

15 thoughts on “Victorious Offal Muffins: the Uncured Remix (AIP & low-FODMAP)

  1. Thanks for posting this. Seems like a great way to eat liver, without as you said, having to plan to eat a week’s worth of liver at once. (yes, I’ve done that and wasn’t able to pull it off).

  2. Well, I tried, a few times, and I still can’t quite stomach the taste of liver (even though Petra’s recipe looks amazing and is brilliant). Can’t doesn’t mean won’t, and I was determined to find a way to include this nutrient-rich food into my diet. Based on a recommendation I found online, I tried “liver pills.” This requires cutting good, organic, grass-fed liver into tiny pill-sized pieces, freezing for 2 weeks (to kill any bad bacteria), then gulping down the frozen, raw pills daily (ish). Unfortunately, I found that the raw liver was difficult to digest and caused some stomach aching, and I could still taste the liver (I was using chicken liver for this technique). Back to the drawing board!
    My next experiment was to cook the liver medium-rare to medium, then dice it, also into tiny pill-size pieces, then freeze them. It’s my understanding that I’m sacrificing some nutrition by cooking the liver instead of eating it raw, but for those with low stomach acid or other digestion issues, this method was the winner! I’m currently using organic beef liver, which seems to have a firmer texture than chicken liver and is easier to dice into uniform shapes and sizes. I take out 5 – 15 frozen “pills” in the morning, lay them on a plate, cut in half any that still seem too large, squeeze lemon juice on them, and down the hatch with a big glass of filtered water! Can’t taste a thing except yummy lemon, and no more stomach aches. Success!

  3. I’ve been meaning to send you a message for a bit about histamines. I also have psoriatic arthritis (along with 3 other autoimmune conditions) and I’ve been AIP for about 10 months. I’ve been low-FODMAP for about 6 months. I tried Wahl’s also, encouraged by your success with it, but I had some problems with it. Anyway, about 2 months ago I tried going low-histamine despite feeling fed up cutting so many foods out, and fortunately/unfortunately it actually had an amazing effect on my joint pains. They’re nearly gone most days now, and it only took like 3 days to see an effect so it’s an easy experiment for your husband. Histamine intolerance has a lot to do with dysbiosis and leaky gut, and it can go away with healing but if Matthew wants some relief fast, please have him try this. Oh–AND nausea is a major symptom of histamine intolerance. Some are more intolerant than others, but as a starter, here’s what he should avoid (in addition to what he avoids on AIP & low-FODMAP): all fermented food, all dried fruit or other dried foods (I noticed the foods I dehydrated for backpacking bother me, but packaged plantain chips and bison bars not so much), and pork in big quantities. Some also need to avoid leftovers (unless immediately frozen) and bone broth cooked more than 6-8 hours, but I’m fine with those. There are also some others, but if he just starts there he should see big results in a week, tops, and he can go further if necessary. It also helps me very much to take quercetin 3 times daily, and to take serrapeptase enzyme 10mg 3 times daily on an empty stomach. Some are helped by supplemental DAO with meals (the only “clean” DAO supplement is called “Histame”) but it didn’t seem to do a thing for me. I hope this helps.
    By the way, I am a faithful reader of your blog. You have a big heart and a wonderful mind. Thanks for what you do.

Leave a Reply

